PDA

View Full Version : Advise on bikes-towing trailers

splarryl
04-02-2006, 10:47 PM
Hello,

I'm interested in getting a portable trailer to TOW my Yamaha V-STAR custom. Trailer-in-a-bag (http://www.trailerinabag.com/index.php) looks interesting, as does port-a-chopper (http://www.portachopper.com/) - for significantly more $.

Anyone have any experience with these, or similar products?

Note, I don't have a garage - so I need something I can fold up and store in the basement.

Thanks,

-Larry

bigwater
04-03-2006, 07:53 AM
I have no personal experience with the breakdown style trailers that you linked to, other than watching other people fiddle fuck around with them and cuss at them. They do seem to be awfully expensive :(

Is it mandatory that you store the thing in the basement? If so, you may be stuck with one of those solutions, but if you can park the thing outside of the house when it's not in use you'd be better off going with a full sized trailer. I've been through numerous trailers over the years as my needs have changed, and I know without a doubt that if I had to buy another trailer today, it would *not* be one of the single bike breakdown trailers. Of course my latest trailer is a 20' enclosed trailer that will haul four bikes and all the tools I own, as well as still have room to toss a futon matress down for sleeping :).