Riderinfo.com, connecting bikers, runs and bands.
Your online exchange for run and band info. Keep in touch with all your riding friends online at RI.
Riders of all motorcycle makes and models welcome.

Thread: Help me out PLEASE. Looking for a particular website

Nashville, Tn. soon to be Kingston Springs,Tn.

Help me out PLEASE. Looking for a particular website

It's time I started drawing up the plans for my trike project. I can't stop thinking about it. In my mind, I've practically got the entire thing worked out but now I need to put my ideas to paper and start figuring out measurements to see if everything fits. I don't want to go into a lot of detail about how it will turn out because it's so hard to describe when it would be a lot better if I can just get my "concept" drawings up on the forum for your scrutiny. But I will give you this much info......and a little background 411 on myself.

Much longer than I've even been a Harley nut, I've LOVED VWs. I've owned many, many of them since I was old enough to drive. So I wanted my first trike to be VW based simply because it's an obvious choice. I know them really well. But there are couple of details that I want to work out.

First, I want to build my own front end. This is simply an opinion, but I personally don't like the looks of a metric bike (or even a Harley) front end grafted onto a trike frame. I know there's nothing wrong with this aproach but I just don't really care for the way it comes out looking. To me, trikes just cry out for springers, girders or trailing links.

Secondly, I don't like the VW trikes tendency to wheelie when you get on it. I got over my wheelie stage in life when I gave up dirt bikes. I have visions of going around a cloverleaf on the interstate and accidentally raising the front end up just when I need it to stay down. oooops! So I want to add weight to my trike on the front end to try and compensate for the VW motor hanging off the back end.