Riderinfo.com, connecting bikers, runs and bands.
Your online exchange for run and band info. Keep in touch with all your riding friends online at RI.
Riders of all motorcycle makes and models welcome.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hand Signals or Turn Signals?

Hand Signals or Turn Signals?

When I started riding most bikes did not have turn signals, maybe none, I don't remember that.

I remeber when they started putting them on, and were thinking about making it a law. The magazine articles all said about the same thing.
    Turn signals on a bike are not a good thing, car drivers had hard enough time 'being aware' of the motorcycle, let alone a little light right next to the taillight.
    Hand signals were nearly impossible to miss.
    When you stuck your arm out, that got the attention of other drivers.

I believed it then, I believe it now. I'm glad I have the turn signals for those rare occasions when they are better than hand signals, but 90% of the time I use hand signals, once in a while both. Turns at stop signs a good example.

Hand signals are more noticable, and that makes me safer.
    I'm glad I have a choice, feel bad for those people who do not choose hand signals.

Both. Always. The only exception is if I'm in a precarious situation where I need to keep both hands on the bars, in which case only the blinkers will be used. 100% of the time I use turn signals... 99.9% of the time my intentions are backed up with arm signals.

The handiest addition to bikes ever made was automatic turn signal cancelling circuitry that turns the blinkers off once you rev the engine back up or the engine turns over so many times. Back in the old days there's no telling how many times I'd look down to notice my turn signal still flashing 5 miles after the last turn I made.
    Never twist the throttle with your ego

On the Farm Rider Info Insider
    Blog Entries
    I agree that we get noticed more when we use a hand signal.